Skip to content
April 15, 2014 / Jon Ericson

My princess

The other morning after Joy fed her, I snuggled with Kathryn and allowed myself to be charmed once again by her smiles. As she looked up to me with total trust I thought, “I will not let you marry anyone who does not love you more than I do.” My little girl will grow up and become a woman of her own, God willing, but that doesn’t mean I won’t do everything in my power to guard her heart. Obviously I want my sons to marry women as wonderful as my own wife. But I want to protect my daughter. She is my princess.

My daughter is thrilled to be in the driver's seat.

My daughter is thrilled to be in the driver’s seat.

I grew up in a house full of boys, so I know how we operate. The male of the species needs to be put in a position to succeed. Being overprotective, especially before they learn to make their own mistakes, will produce devastating consequences. After a fall, you gotta learn to stand up, dust yourself off, and try again. This goes for boys and girls, of course. But there are some mistakes you don’t want children to make at all, ever. And this is how boys differ from girls.

Most likely, you’ll think I’m old-fashioned (or worse), but some things are more devastating to girl than boys. Failed romantic relationships are just one of those things.


I actually wrote this months ago and didn’t want to finish it. I figured the work I need to do to justify this view of humanity would require research and careful logical argument. But each time I look at my daughter, I know that no argument can ever convey my feelings for her and my desires for her future. There’s just nothing more to write.

Leave a Reply

